Youth lose first league game

Monday 5th September Ryman Youth League Fixture

Leatherhead 2 – 0 Walton and Hersham

The Young Swans suffered their first defeat in the Ryman Youth League, losing to Leatherhead on a miserable night from start to finish.
With most of the squad stuck on the M25 because of an accident, the kick off was delayed by almost an hour, with goalkeeper Andrew Hasker literally turning up just a couple of minutes before kick off and two players still not having arrived.

On a perfect playing service the Young Swans amazingly started brightly and should have scored within the 1st minute of the game, winning the ball just outside the opponents’ box and Tom Hall having a shot well saved by the Leatherhead keeper. If the ball had been squared however then a certain goal could have been scored.

The game was evenly matched during the first 25 minutes, until an uncharacteristic mistake by Andrew in goal gifted Leatherhead their first goal. Chances were created at both ends for the remainder of the half, with Walton however not playing the football game asked for and coached, and looking like they had just travelled 15 miles in 2 1/2 hours. The management were thankful to go in only 1-0 down.

HT 1-0

The Young Swans started the second half in the same vein as the first, with no real pattern of play, tempo or penetration up front. Changes were made, with Luca Wood coming on for Tom Hall and Jake Dowdeswell replacing Ayo Awojobi. Unfortunately soon after, with an ever retreating Walton back line, too much space was given in front of the back four, allowing an on coming Leatherhead midfielder to rifle a well taken left foot shot into the bottom right corner of the net. Emmanuel Ajayi was soon brought on for Jack Inkpen to give fresh impetus up front and a few chances were created in the dying stages, but Leatherhead were worthy winners. The Young Swans can now look forward to a match at Metropolitan Police, where there is no need to go on the M25.

FT 2-0

Team: A Hasker, G Kelly, A Awojobi (J Dowdeswell 55), J Murphy-Steel, J Newbury, J Willis, E Hayden (capt), R Nunn, J Inkpen ((E Ajayi 65), R Lapersonne, T Hall (L Wood 55).